31 July 2010

The Holidays

The Holidays (MySpace) is a pop/soul band from Sydney comprising Simon Jones (guitar and vocals), Will Magnus (guitar and synths), Alex Kortt (bass guitar and steel drums) and Andrew Kerridge (drums and percussion). Formed in 2006, they have been playing the live music scene and signed with Liberation Music in 2008. Their debut album Post-Paradise will be released on 24 September 2010 (in Australia).

They have already released two singles from the forthcoming album. Video clips below.

Their sound is fresh and soulful. Simon Jones has a very interesting voice.

clip for 'Golden Sky'

clip for 'Moonlight Hours'

15 July 2010


Hurts (MySpace, facebook, YouTube, Twitter) is a duo from Manchester comprising Theo Hutchcraft (vocals) and Adam Anderson (electronics, guitar). Formed in 2009, they were number four in BBC's Sound of 2010 list. They have released two singles from their forthcoming album called Happiness (RCA, September 2010) - video clips below.

(from Hurts MySpace)

Described as 1980s inspired electro-pop, their sound is rather more sophisticated, with a stylish look to go along with it.

clip for 'Wonderful Life'

clip for 'Better Than Love'

See also live performance on German 1LIVE.

10 July 2010

Over the Rainbow

Israel "Iz" Kamakawiwoʻole's Platinum selling hit "Over the Rainbow" official video produced by Jon de Mello for The Mountain Apple Company

Iz was one of the most successful musicians from Hawaii. Sadly, he passed away in 1997, aged 38 from weight-related respiratory illness. His memory lives on through his music.